Watch the video above and talk about it with a group or mentor. Learn more.

JoAnne shares about how she experienced the stages of grief in the midst of an unthinkable family tragedy.

Key Points:

  • Shock (or Denial) is often the initial reaction to protect us from an overwhelming experience.
  • Anger is a defense mechanism that attempts to protect our wounded heart.
  • Bargaining is when we begin to allow our hearts to open and embrace the pain from our loss.
  • Depression is when our anger is turned inward, often to deal with feelings of guilt.
  • Acceptance is when we re-focus the pain and begin to accept life without the person we have lost.

Quote This:

Matthew 5:4 God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

See Also: Death, Depression, Emotions, Grief

Talk About It
  1. What is your initial reaction to this topic? What jumped out at you?
  2. What has been helpful to you during your grieving process? What has been unhelpful?
  3. Why is it helpful to think about grief in stages?
  4. What stage do you find yourself (or your loved one) in right now? Explain.
  5. Think about each stage. What are some examples of unhealthy behaviors that could arise in each stage? Do you find yourself (or loved one) exhibiting any of those? Explain.
  6. What could you do to help yourself or someone else move through the stages in a healthy way?
  7. What do you think the last stage of acceptance means? Have you gotten to this stage in your grief process? Explain.
  8. Write a personal action step based on this conversation.